Adding Co-Instructors And Teaching AssistantsAugust 24, 2023 2023-09-06 9:41
Adding Co-Instructors And Teaching Assistants
One course on the platform can have multiple instructors, teaching assistants, and creators who can work together to create one course. All the co-instructors and teaching assistants should have a role in the development of the course. Adding co-instructors to the course is a new way of creating a course with multiple dimensional learning providing a stop destination for various expertise and skills.
The co-instructors in the content can be added from the dashboard.
Step to-step guide for the addition of Co-Creators
1. Go to the Course Management page. From there, click on the Course Settings and click on Instructors.
2. It is required to add the email address of the co-instructor to be added, under the instructor’s panel and then click add.
3. With this, the name of the co-instructor will appear on the screen under the instructor’s list. For any co-instructor to be added, they must have an existing account on the platform.
4. Necessary permissions should be granted to the new co-instructor by checking the boxes in every column. You can assign the revenue and cost sharing as well if the course in which the instructor is added is a paid one.
5. Manage permission if checked for any co-instructor r will allow them to add more core instructors to the same course.
6. After all these steps click save.
This will add the constructors to your existing course.
Permissions given to the Co-Creator include
Visibility to the students By checking this box, it will allow the co-instructor to be publicly visible to all the students and customers who will see your course landing page.
This permission will allow the co-instructor’s profile and name to appear wherever the course will be listed on the platform. It will also allow the students to send messages to the newly added co-instructor. They will be able to message or interact with the instructor while purchasing the course or for any queries related to the course. This box needs to be checked if you want your co-instructor to respond to the interactive queries as well as the questions and answers of the students. This permission will also allow the co-instructor to send marketing or promotional emails and to put up new announcements on the course landing page.
Manage check box The manage permission will allow the added co-instructor to add more co-instructors to the same course as well as give them permission to modify or change the content of the existing course.
This permission should be vigilantly used, as this will allow the added co-instructor all the access and visibility to the management functions and settings of the course, allowing them to edit or change the content as well.
This will also give them the permission to add or delete lectures from the existing course and allow them to change the course display on the course landing page or marketplace. They can also create discount vouchers, codes, or references for the same course.
Permission for captions This permission will allow the added instructor to add, edit, delete, or modify the captions for the existing course. If the manage permission is already given, caption permission will automatically be granted.
Performance permission This permission will allow the co-instructor to have access to the applicable data payment information under the performance tab.
Permission to the Question and Answers This permission control will allow the co-instructor to view the questions and answers and hold the interactive sessions with the students under the Q/A dashboard.
Permission on reviews These controls will allow the co-instructor to have the review permission. They will be able to access, view, and answer the course reviews submitted by the students under the review section of the instructor dashboard.
To grant this permission, the permission for visibility is necessary.
Assignment permission With this permission the core instructor will be able to post assignments on the course landing page They will see the assignments submitted by students and will receive notifications for the same provision of responding to the student and providing them feedback on the assignment will also be given to the core instructor after this permission is given
Revenue report permission This permission will assign the co-instructor to see the revenue share and have permission to go through the revenue report having all the details about the purchases by the students.
This permission cannot be deleted. To have a view of the revenue report, the co-instructor needs to earn revenue from the course. Without earning the revenue, they will not have access to the revenue report.
Revenue share permission This applies to the paid courses. The creator of the course can provide the co-instructor with the revenue share of the purchases. Once the co-instructor is given this permission they will have the right of accessing the revenue report for all the new activities related to purchasing and they will be able to see their revenue share under the column of Your Revenue in the report.
Different Designations based on permission given are
Title of a course owner – This designation is given to the original content creator of the course and this permission cannot be removed by any co-instructor or teaching assistant.
The owner of the course will have access to all the permissions including the Manage permission which cannot be deleted by any of the added instructors.
The course owner must complete the proper verification process and submission of the sample video for allowing the course to be reviewed and published on the marketplace. The promotional activities and marketing boost programs will be controlled by the owner and will be given the rights for eligibility of inclusion of marketing and promotional deals.
Designation of Teaching Assistant
This designation is given to the instructors who are not marked as visible on the course landing page. These instructions will only have permission for Q/A and will have the permission to reply and respond to the queries by all the students on the course platform.
Teaching assistants are not visible on the course landing page. This designation helps the student to have additional information about the co-instructors.
Deleting a Co-Instructor from the course
The added co-instructor can also be deleted from the course page by clicking on the trash bin icon under the instructor’s list.
If the co-instructor has the permission of Manage, they will have the permission to remove other co-instructors as well as remove themselves from the course. Only the course owner cannot be removed at any given point from the course.